Home / Thoughts / Ideas / About / Links

<+54/3/24> One month HRT update: Cold Resistance debuff, vulnerability to Sleep status increased, tits hurt.

<+54/3/15> Happy birthday, Mana-sama!

<+54/2/24> It's the lunar new year, and I've started estrogen. I intended to do so under the auspices of full moon, but I couldn't wait and did it in the early afternoon. I'm sure the Goddess understands.

<+54/1/17> Welcome to my blog. My name is Rose. I'm known by many other monikers elsewhere throughout the Net, all pseudonymous because I value my privacy, but on this site you'll get the real me. Chiefly because I plan to use this as my writer's website, and I figure some day I may be doing book tours or interviews, and there's not much point in hiding my face then.
Yes, a blog! Here in the late year of 2024. Or at least what you call 2024. I call it +54 because I use a reckoning of years based on Unix time. I've created my own calendar system, you see, and decided upon that as my zero year because it's trivially close to the invention of the microprocessor which I feel defines the modern epoch of humanity, for better or worse.
Yes, a blog. Even though the world has long since moved on to the social media model of algorithms and provoking outrage for interaction, only sacrificing customizability, curation and community in exchange. What can I say? I'm an old-fashioned gal.
You know, it wasn't too long ago that people commonly created their own original websites from scratch. Or I suppose more likely from a FrontPage template, but the point remains: things weren't always like they are today. They were better.
I actually remember when blogs (Weblogs if you're nasty) first became a thing. Plenty of people were against them, including me at the time. Unlike forums, chat rooms, Usenet and BBSes, which were focused around a theme or a fandom or a community, blogs were focused on an individual. It was the early inkling of niche internet micro celebrity, on organizing your life around the production of Contentâ„¢ for an audience you hoped would become parasocially attached to drive up your ad revenue or maybe even buy merch. Today's family vloggers would once have been mommy bloggers. It wasn't all peaches. I don't intend to idealize the past.
And yet, it was better. There was no Algorithm -- you only saw what you sought out. Comments were moderated, so unlike social media, the blogosphere wasn't overrun with white supremacists and bots. Bloggers had full control over the look and functionality of their pages and could express their creativity and aesthetics instead of being locked into the bland, soulless interface of a billion-dollar corporate Platform.
So yes, a blog!
Here I'll post updates about my writing. Here I'll rant about so-called leftists not masking indoors during a raging pandemic. Here I'll show off particularly nice pulls from my gacha game of choice, Final Fantasy Record Keeper. In short, I'll post whatever I want, whenever I want, because this is my blog.
Yes, a blog.